Quick Facts

Symbol RM
Coins 5, 10, 20, 50 sen
Banknotes RM1, RM5, RM10, RM50, RM100
Central Bank Bank Negara Malaysia
Currency Exchange

The Malaysian ringgit (plural: ringgit; formerly the Malaysian dollar) is the currency of Malaysia. It is divided into 100 sen (cents) and its currency code is MYR (Malaysian Ringgit). The ringgit is issued by the Bank Negara Malaysia.

Travelers' cheques and foreign currencies can be changed for Malaysian Ringgit at banks and hotels. However, there are also money changer kiosks available at major shopping complexes and airport. Most major hotels charge a nominal fee for currency conversion.